Indian Share Market Holidays


Stock market trading involves careful planning and analysis of the market movements, opening a demat account, and awareness about market trading hours. An important consideration while planning your trading decisions for mutual funds and securities markets is to be aware of when the markets are open and what are the market holidays.  The share market holiday list is decided based on the various Indian festivals including national and regional both. To avoid the trouble of checking whether there is a holiday today in share market, keep a list of Indian share market holidays handy with you.


Indian Stock Markets

Indian stock markets comprise of the country’s two major stock exchanges - the Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE) and the National Stock Exchange (NSE). A stock can be listed on either of the two or both. These exchanges function from Monday to Friday and are closed on weekends.  The regular session stock trading is held on weekdays between 9.15 AM to 3.30 PM. Mahurat trading is done on the occasion of Diwali, the timings for which are notified by the exchanges around that time only.


Trading Holidays in 2023

The trading on the equities segments takes place on all weekdays except on the holidays declared by the stock exchanges in advance. As per the stock market holiday list announced by the stock exchanges, trading in equities will not be possible for another 15 days during 2023.


The first share market holiday in the year 2023 falls on the country’s Republic Day on 26th January and no trading will happen on the BSE as well as the NSE. While there is no holiday in February, Trading in equities, equities derivatives segment, and SLB will not happen on March 7th on account of the Holi festival.


The maximum number of Indian stock market holidays in 2023 is in April on account of Mahavir Jayanti, Good Friday and Dr Baba Saheb Ambedkar Jayanti on the 4th, 7th, and 14th of April, respectively.


The months of May and June have one holiday each on account of the Maharashtra Day on 1st May and 28th June for Bakri-Id. While the markets will function on all days in July, trading will remain closed on the occasion of the country’s Independence Day on 15th August. This will be followed by another holiday on 19th September on the occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi.


October has two holidays to mark the birthday of Mahatma Gandhi on 2nd October and Dussehra on 24th October. November is the month when Diwali is celebrated across the country and the stock markets will be closed on 14th of the month. Mahurat trading will, however, be done on Diwali day.


Gurunanak Jayanti on 27th November is the next holiday and is followed by the last holiday of the year on 25th December on account of Christmas. You can make note of these holidays on your mobile phones or calendar to avoid any kind of confusion.


List of Holidays in Indian Share Markets (2023)




Republic Day

26th January



7th March


Ram Navami

30th March


Mahavir Jayanti

4th April


Good Friday

7th April


Ambedkar Jayanti

14th April


Maharashtra Day

1st May



28th June


Independence Day

15th August


Ganesh Chaturthi

19th September


Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti

2nd October



24th October


Diwali (Balipratipada)

14th November


Guru Nanak Jayanti

27th November



25th December



Some other trading holidays during 2023 are falling on weekends. These include:


  • Maha Shivratri on 18th February, Saturday
  • Id-UL-Fitr on 22nd April, Saturday
  • Moharram on 29th July, Saturday
  • Diwali-Laxmi Pujan on 12th November, Sunday


Attention investors: Apart from the holidays and weekends, the Indian stock market offers a number of exciting trading opportunities.





Open Account Now